Double Hammock Wiggleproof- DHW

Back carry using a base size wrap (5-7)

One Rebozo pass and one wiggleproof pass; tied at front

Double Hammock Wiggleproof CariSlings Tigress Sparkle size 6
Double Hammock Wiggleproof
CariSlings Tigress Sparkle size 6

Pros:

  • Lean proof
  • Leg straightening proof
  • Supportive
  • Chest pass distributes weight/stress
  • Good for long wearing

Cons:

  • More difficult to tighten than Double Hammock (in my opinion); requires more practice?
  • Since I could not get a good chest pass (using either method), it pulled on my shoulders
  • When the second pass is WP (wiggleproof), it pulled my chestpass down a bit on the side
pulling chest pass down
pulling chest pass down

I started the morning in Tigress (the white and pink/purple tiger print) doing the 2nd pass as WP.  This method starts the same as regular double hammock, and then AFTER the chest pass, you go under the leg and up over your opposite shoulder.  The pass going from under baby’s leg to your shoulder is called a wiggleproof pass.  I have never been that great at wiggleproof passes.  Maybe that is why I couldn’t do this.   I could not keep my chest pass tight while also pulling the wrap up over my shoulder.  I was afraid if I didn’t pull the pass up enough, then the pass would not give enough support and be high enough across the back.  But trying to pull the wrap straight up was doing nothing for my chest pass.  My chest pass was a little loose and it felt like it was falling down on the one side.  (see picture above)  But this didn’t last long, because Noah wanted to be down.  So whereas in a normal DH he would have popped his seat, there was no way he was getting out of this carry, so that’s a plus!

Attempted escape - un successful!
Attempted escape – un successful!

Later for nap time I tried doing the first pass as the cross pass in Petradi (purple/grayish wrap).  This way starts off with the pass going from over your shoulder and under baby’s opposite leg for a cross pass and THEN the chest pass, and finishes like a normal DH.  You have to be a little careful if your baby is wiggly because baby is not very secure while you are doing the chest pass.  Luckily Noah was very compliant.  So when I pulled the pass under Noah’s leg I still could not get my chest pass tight.  Mostly the top rail.  I feel like there must be some trick to this or something that I just don’t know yet.

Chest pass that WILL NOT TIGHTEN!?
Chest pass that WILL NOT TIGHTEN!?

But yeah. I couldn’t tighten it even with a compliant baby.  So the loose chest pass put more stress on my shoulders and made the carry a bit uncomfortable.  I did manage to wear Noah for a while this way though while he slept, so it wasn’t too horrible.

Double hammock wiggleproof Tekhni Petradi Heather 6
Double hammock wiggleproof Tekhni Petradi Heather 6
the back looked good!
the back looked good!

I think this is a carry I need to revisit, along with DHTAS.  I still am undecided which way I would rather try again.

Did you try these?  Which did you prefer?

Links:

wearingwiki.com

1st wiggleproof pass

2nd wiggleproof pass

Leave a comment